Pull-Planning Overview
Pull-Planning Overview Video
Use the Pull Plans page to create and manage pull plans for project phases. A pull plan helps the project team work backward from a finish milestone to define the work sequence, durations, crew needs, and hand-offs required to complete the phase.
Add tasks to the Parking Lot before or during planning. Move tasks that are ready to plan to the Planning Board, arrange them backward from the finish milestone, and add task milestones and hand-offs as needed. Record each task’s duration, responsible company, crew size, and What I Need information. Administrators can populate pull plan details on the Planning Board individually, or they can start a live planning session to invite other contributors to add details in real time.
A pull plan progresses through the following statuses:
- In Planning: Users with the required privileges can develop the pull plan.
- Approved: The Planning Board is read-only until an authorized user withdraws approval.
- Released to Work Plan: Planning Board tasks are released to the Work Plan. You cannot edit the pull plan tasks or hand-offs.
Your project-level privileges determine the actions that you can perform:
- Pull Plans - Add: Create pull plans and edit pull plan details.
- Pull Plans - Delete: Delete pull plans. This permission also requires Pull Plans - Add privilege.
- Approve and Release to Work Plan: Start and end live planning sessions, approve or withdraw approval, and release approved pull plans to the Work Plan.
- Add, Edit, and Delete tasks for your company or tasks for all companies, based on your assigned task permissions.
All users with access to a pull plan can join an active live session. Actions available after joining continue to depend on project access and assigned privileges.
Note Keep the following information in mind when you create and manage pull plans:
- Pull Planning uses task durations, rather than calendar dates, to determine the duration of a project phase.
- A finish milestone can be the Pulling From target for only one pull plan in a project.
- A live-planning session is optional. You can create, approve, and release a pull plan without starting a live session.
Last Published Monday, October 19, 2026