Manage Tasks for a Pull Plan on the Planning Board

Manage task cards on the Planning Board to keep the pull plan aligned with the team’s current work sequence. You can update task details, move tasks, place work in the Parking Lot, and delete tasks that are no longer needed. For example, a drywall foreman can update the crew size for hanging drywall, move the task to reflect a revised sequence, or place unfinished coordination work in the Parking Lot until it is ready to plan.

Note You can edit, move, or delete Planning Board tasks and task milestones only in an In Planning pull plan. If a live session is active, select Join Live Session before making changes. Available actions depend on your task privileges.

To manage tasks for a pull plan on the Planning Board:

  1. In the object selector, select Project, select View Projects List, and then select a project name.
  2. From the Main Menu, select Tasks, and then select Pull Plans.
  3. Manage a task in one of the following ways:
    1. Edit a task:
      1. Double-click or right-click on a task card, and then select Edit Task.
      2. In the Edit Task panel, modify the task details, and then select Update.
    2. Move a task on the Planning Board:
      1. Select and drag a task card to the target column and row, and then release it. If the target position contains a card, the task is placed in the next available row below. You cannot move tasks to the milestones area or after the finish milestone.
    3. Move a task to or from the Parking Lot:
      1. On the Planning Board, right-click on a task card.
      2. Select Move to Parking Lot.
      3. To move a task from the Parking Lot to the Planning Board, drag the task to the Planning Board. The task is automatically placed in the farthest-right visible column.

        Note Dragging from the Parking Lot to the Planning Board is supported. Dragging and dropping within the Parking Lot and from the Planning Board to the Parking Lot are not supported.

    4. Delete a task:
      1. Right-click on a task card, and then select Delete Task.
      2. In the confirmation dialog, select Delete.

        The finish milestone cannot be moved or deleted. The delete confirmation dialog displays Delete task? and asks whether you want to delete the selected items.

Tip

  • Move a task into the Parking Lot when the team has identified the work, but it's not ready to include the task in the planned sequence.